October

Most mornings we sit outside on the front stoop and watch the neighborhood wake up.  We usually manage to drag ourselves outside between 7:30 and 8.  M pours himself a giant cup of coffee, I squeeze half a lemon into a mug of hot water and we head out to sip our respective beverages and let the sleepiness wear off.  This morning was no different.  As soon as we opened the door, our feline pal Stumpy, a sweet-natured stray who adopted us years ago, scampered up the steps to greet us with his usual one-eyed, bob-tailed enthusiasm.  He’s built like a wrestler–solid muscle, no neck, a tiny little butt–and he has the voice of a munchkin.  He hopped onto my lap and we watched the a.m. goings on.  Today was a really pretty fall morning–brisk but not too cold and the light was nice. So I took some photos to add to my expanding cache of reference-type images and stuff.

See the rest after the jump! There’s more than just pretty sky shots.

5 Responses to “October”

  1. Awesome. I love Mr. Stumpy, he’s so loving. Nice shots of ***** St. too

  2. I like the close up shot of the leaves on the midst of changing colors (aka DYING). Are you going to use these for something or let them sit in their own pretty way?

    That cat has James Bond Villain Eyes.

    • thanks J-Dawg! I probably won’t do anything with the photos directly. More likely I’ll just continue to think about parts of the images and the details will influence stuff I make later. I think about using the actual photos somehow in my work but then I don’t because as a material to work with photos seem so physically unappealing. It might be different if I managed to figure out another, more appealing surface to print them on.

      Stumpy had an accident years ago which left him blind in his left eye. That’s why it looks like a black marble. He’s very sensitive about it now(way to put you’re foot in your mouth, Hastings). His eye was swollen shut for days and when it opened back up I actually found myself avoiding staring at it in order not to seem rude.

  3. […] the sales I make will be going directly to pay off an ever-expanding vet bill. My feline companion Stumpy whom I’ve introduced you to in the past has fallen ill, and, as a result, he’s moved in […]

Leave a Reply

