Ah Hell, I got nothin: Nonsense Post Number 13,001

How bout this sketch from an old journal?  Chronic insomnia self portrait.

Yeah sorry I didn’t post at a reasonable hour today but you know, it’s the holidays and I’ve been busy hanging out with people I rarely see and eating like a pig and stuff.  I’m sitting in my living room right now while three friends are playing “Take On Me” on guitar, bass and accordian.   Good times.  Let’s see, what else?  Um…  Here’s a slightly blurry photo of Dermott,  my pet turtle from a few years ago.  He’s nine now so he’s about six or seven in the pic.  Handsome devil, isn’t he?

Ever wonder what the ratio of fur to body is on your cat?    It’s about eight parts fur to two parts body on my pal Buster.  I found that out when he had to have his foot shaved one time.

Coincidentally, eight to two is the ratio of beeswax to damar resin I use when mixing encaustic medium and here’s a detail from another encaustic icon work in progress.

Alrighty, I’ll stop now. Sorry bout that. I promise this sort of nonsense post won’t become a habit. Hope you all are having a great holiday season.

Big Hearts,
-Steph

8 Responses to “Ah Hell, I got nothin: Nonsense Post Number 13,001”

  1. Dermott looks like he could make it through training into some kind of black ops or Navy Seals team.

    (can only imagine Ah Ha songs being covered in the manner Tom Waits…for some reason.)

  2. Is that a frog?

    Love the sketch btw, reminds me of that old movie, Krippendorf’s Tribe.

  3. I love the title and am a little uncomfortable about how much I like the dead frog. I think I’m liking it better than the wasps, but that may just be because of the red. either way, it tickles me shallow soul.

    • heheheh thanks, Tarabu! I’m surprised at how much people seem to like these deadthing icons. The frog and the moth are in a show right now and they both sold! and at the reception people kept coming up to me to tell me how much they liked them. at least one person didn’t realize it was a real snake though.

Leave a Reply

