Death to Smokers.

Watercolor, Graphite, Charcoal and Tempera on Paper, 4″ x 6″

Ok, not literally.  Actually, St. Louis is finally approaching a city-wide ban on smoking in restaurants and bars, and listening to all of the resultant bickering led to the creation of this little work.  A few years ago, when I was still living in Chicago, I experienced all of the same sort of back-and-forths that I see here today.  Chicago was another city that seemingly couldn’t “see” itself as a non-smoking town, and a lot of establishment owners were worried that they’d be closing down.  Guess what happened?  Smoking was banned, and business actually went up.  To be honest, I am mostly ambivalent to the topic; I have been a smoker and I am now a non-smoker.  However, I do think that it is important that everyone is provided with a smoke-free workplace, but on the other hand, I think that laws that restrict smoking outside, or in your own apartment, are a bit oppressive.

3 Responses to “Death to Smokers.”

  1. You know what? I really miss smoking.
    That scene in “Ghost” where the balding guy in the P-Coat is looking at all the cigarette packs suddenly spilled out on the subway platform really got to me. It all started with Professor Cordiner staring at that block of marble in the student’s studio with a pipe in his mouth. God damn you, Bill!
    God damn tobacco!

    • jasongrayfineartist Says:

      Ha ha, I know what you mean! I haven’t smoked in quite a looooonngg time, but every once in a while I still get an inexplicable urge to light up and I have to fight it.

  2. oooh I like the dense, mostly white, crackly, marshmallowy tempera surface and how the faces slowly become apparent after first taking in the overall abstraction.

Leave a Reply

