9 Flats

I was actually being such a good boy doing work today that I forgot I had stuff to post. Oops. My bad, yo.

DSC_0126

“9 Flats” 30″ x 30″ Acrylic on Canvas

I call paintings I don’t tear up “flats” because the act of violating the plane of the canvas when I rip them feels to me like bringing the 2d objects into the third dimension, even if they appear more or less flat.

I decided to make pieces like this because my normal process of tearing these paintings into small squares sort of hides the impact of destroying them. If all you’ve seen is bacon you’re going to be hard pressed to imagine the pig, right? So this piece is made up of canvases I made with the intent of destroying them, but decided against it so as to show viewers of my work what is being destroyed. Actually It sounds a little macabre when I put it like that, but that is the intent.

I’ll post close-ups of the individual paintings after the jump.

Another aspect of this kind of piece I like is that its “found art” in a sense that these weren’t made to be in this piece, yet I am the person who created it. There’s something weird to be said about the nature of intent and authorship there. Maybe. Or maybe its an entirely narcissistic exercise. Probably that one.

DSC_0031

DSC_0030

DSC_0023

DSC_0028

DSC_0029

DSC_0027

DSC_0032

DSC_0025

-JD

9 Responses to “9 Flats”

  1. Have I ever mentioned how much I enjoy your work? I love piecework and am constantly amazed with the cuttings you put together in new and exciting ways.

    I love this nine patch that’s not a patch – it’s made of pieces that themselves are wholes (a dichotomy that tickles my brain).

    If I had to pick a favourite ‘patch’ it would be a toss-up between the top left and bottom right – the miniature alternating patches and the matchstick details are appealing to me.

    • Thank you, Tarabu, whenever I see good quilts I feel a touch on comaraderie and wonder if I should learn that craft. I haven’t because of the time issue, but I think quilting has become one of the most relevant mediums now out there, having been using a lot of the methods we see today- combining patterns, images and ideas together in novel ways, the importance of craft to it and even the functional elements. All these traits have worked their way into the “mainstream” art traditions until this ancient skill is now perfectly contemporary. Someone could write a thesis on it.

  2. I really dig these squares. The top middle flat of layered circles is great. The tension of the complements, values and light reflecting off textures creates a veritable organism.

  3. Toni Tiller Says:

    i really like this, and i am probably just going to end up sounding stupid from here on out because i am not sure how to say what i want to say but what the hell who cares. this seems like you, but a whole different side of you. i think i mean that because i have had the opportunity to play with these in this whole “flat” form and it never occurred to me that they would ever stay whole because cutting them up has always been presented as the intended point. i find the combination of pieces to be sophisticated in the color and pattern choices and arrangement.

    also, as per my recent obsession, i see them looking wonderful as prints on fabrics, they make a hundred garments appear in my head. especially that bottom center on.

    ok i’m done rambling.

    • There is that service that Daniel used where you can print your own fabrics from an image you upload. That presents some interesting possibilities actually. I’ve never gotten around to looking into it.

      Its funny, last time you visited several of these were probably stretched and stacked in my closet. Its taken over a year to find 9 that go well together. Its like a process of constantly playing blocks, like a child.

  4. Hey, I know bleed through on masking makes funny effects, but have you tried the new “Frog Tape”? It has some kind of substance on it that reacts with water, creating a seal on the tape’s edge as soon as paint contacts it.

    Otherwise, I’m always interested to see what you are doing.

    • I just bought a new roll of tape to use with stencils but haven’t broken it out yet. I don’t know how well any tape can completely mask these though because there’s so much texture, the glue on the tape would actually have to fill some of the peaks and valleys that are too fine for the tape to conform to. What usually ends up happening is the first color I lay down fills those areas, then the colors I mix into it never seep under the tape.

      So in the bottom and top right pieces, you can tell that the bright orange was the first color laid down in the second layer of each (though in the top of the bottom right piece, you can see that blue was glopped down first. Then the two would have been mixed.).

      Another way to tell the first color laid down by the color at the bottom of the lines or grooves in any given pattern. The first thing you lay down ifs the last thing left as you scrape the groove out with a safety pin, if that makes sense.

  5. beautiful patterns and textures! and man! i love that circle-y one!

Leave a Reply

