Extemporaneous Nudes

I have a number of different sets of work going on with various mediums and treatments. Sometimes its based on what I have available to me in materials and space. Lately I’ve been spending my days in a tight space in Manhattan doing illustration and when I have spare time I’ve been working on these little improvised sketches using pencil, graphite, benzyl-alcohol based inks, india ink and sometimes a little water. I allow the materials to react and keep the editing to a tight minimum. These are often more fun and exciting than a fully “realized” finished painting. And it’s my nature to luxuriate in fun and excitement. I guess thats also why I love fleshy female form. That’s my story, and I’m sticking to it.

Houri

Houri, pencil, ink on paper, 12″ x 9″

Adumbration

Adumbration, pencil, ink on paper, 9″ x 12″

more after the jump

Hibernate 1

Hibernation 1, pencil, ink on paper 9″ x 12″

Hibernate 2

Hibernation 2, pencil, ink on paper, 12″ x 9″

Hibernate 3

Hibernation 3, pencil, ink on paper 12″ x 9″

pregnant nude with scarf

Late with a Scarf, pencil, ink on paper, 12″ x 9″

2 Responses to “Extemporaneous Nudes”

  1. jasongrayfineartist Says:

    One man’s extemporaneous is another man’s lingered, I suppose. These are wonderful to look at, Tom. I especially like Hibernation I, and Late with a Scarf.

Leave a Reply

