Ephemeral Connections

I was out and about in the world the other day and took this photo.

It’s been a long time since I have done one of these and tell the truth, I am not in love with it, but in this case that isn’t the point. I also spent most of the week walking around my property digging up rotten wood, and carefully brushing back all the wet and rotted material to uncover the forms. Then you set them out to air cure and they petrify and look like this.


I never thought the two had anything in common, but I am beginning to rethink that.

I always responded to the temporary nature of the abstract subway billboard photos but I always kept them compartmentalized in my mind as “a city thing” and the same but reverse for the outdoor sculpture projects I have going on in Connecticut. As I spend more time talking to other artists working in similar mediums I am finally starting to draw connections between the two. My interest seems to center on found objects, re-purposed things, and the evolving change that decay sets on motion. It’s pretty obvious right? Went right over my head for a minute there.

I am still making all sorts of thoughts and connections in my mind about the things I am working on, but so far trying to piece them together feels like snatching at clouds.

Ok my head hurts now, here are some more pictures.

When you work outside, sometimes you make new friends.

Leave a Reply

