Shiny and New! Work in progress is now “Alluvium”

Yeah. All freaking titled and everything. Here it is competed.

Alluvium
48 x 24 x 2 inches deep
acrylic on pine-cradled masonite panel with a big hole through the top and cellophane sandwiched between frosted plexiglass behind the hole

I’ll post a couple of detail photos after the jump.

You can click on the photo to see it bigger. If you’re interested in seeing process shots from along the way, I’ve been posting them as I worked here and here and here. Finishing this was a bit of a pain in the butt. I had an idea of what I wanted to happen behind the hole but my attempts kept falling short. In the last couple of days, I changed my mind a handful of times and there were a number of fruitless trips to drug stores and art supply shops. I can’t tell you how many times I assembled and reassembled various combinations of materials behind that hole. It was a little like the story of Goldilocks and the three bears–everything I tried was just too something or other. In the end, I went back to the original idea and my final trip was to the hardware store right around the corner where, of course, I found exactly what I needed. Yay!

Happy Endings to you all!  What?  I didn’t mean that, you bunch of perverts!  I meant happy endings like I’m happy about how this piece has ended.  But whatever you’re in the mood for I guess.  Good luck finding it!
-StephG
p.s. detail photos

4 Responses to “Shiny and New! Work in progress is now “Alluvium””

  1. Ah LOOVE a yum-mie painting lahk-a dis-a wun! 😛

  2. Sarah B. Says:

    Oooh it’s so seaweedy delicious! I love it.

Leave a Reply

