From the Archives: Darya

I had a piece ready to go for today. It wasn’t the best thing I’ve ever done, but I worked late Sunday to get it ready. Then last night decided it needed just 1 more thing that would require drying, hence no posting today.

So back to the archives again. This time to 2002 or 2003. When my friend Darya, who now runs the successful food blog Summer Tomato (I recommend it if you like eating well and healthy without dealing with the BS of the diet industry) had just returned from a year in Italy and asked for some art.

Darya1
“Darya 1″ 16″ x 16″, 14″ x 14”
Acrylic on canvas w/ Safety Pins

At the time I made this had a lot of ideas but had real issues making anything that appeared finished. I’m pretty sure the top portion of this piece was the first time I used safety pins. I managed to keep the colors in this one pretty well in control though, which helped the end result a lot, though its still pretty rough (yes I stapled the bottom weave on the front. No, I don’t know why I thought that was a good idea either).

Leave a Reply

