I’m thinking about calling this one “Fruity Five Finger Closed Fist Kiss”


acrylic on panel
29 x 18 inches

Finished this the other day and I’m pretty happy with it. I showed you details of it recently, and thought at the time that in the final piece the saturation would be knocked down much farther than this. Well, I was wrong.  !  Upon closer inspection of my most recent work, it seems my palette is shifting.  For quite a while, I wasn’t able to call a painting finished until I’d glazed the hell out of it and brought it to a fairly monochromatic state.  As you can see, this is changing.  I wonder if it’s due partly to the fact that I’m now working much more with acrylics and fun acrylic mediums that allow me to simultaneously build dimension AND impart translucence into the paint.  Or maybe it has something to do with environmental factors.  It’s no longer just me and the cats all day.  Our relative silence is now shattered several times a day by veritable tornadoes of young visitors. Maybe it’s just that I’m eating so much fruit. I’ve enjoyed some amazing peaches lately. And HOTDAMN! if cherries didn’t go on sale! You know how I love cherries. Well, Jason knows anyway. I dunno.  Regardless of why, this is where I’m at.

Click in for a whole mess of detail shots after the jump! 

Alors, c’est ca!
a bientot,
-Steph

2 Responses to “I’m thinking about calling this one “Fruity Five Finger Closed Fist Kiss””

  1. conGlilia Says:

    Houston, TX – The Houston Texans signed Andre Johnson to a two-year contract gauge on Thursday, a handle that, according to the Houston History, makes him the highest paid far-reaching receiver in the NFL.

    Johnson, 29, led the NFL in receiving yards the mould two seasons and had five years and $35 million left over on his existing contract.

    The Relate reported the proportions to be advantage $38.5 million, including $13 million guaranteed. On normal, Johnson purpose nowadays order $10.5 million per year during the next seven seasons, not including display incentives.

    “I in any case said I wanted to put on since single band, and to be able to give representing the Houston Texans to my in one piece profession is a tremendous honor,” Johnson said. “I always said I wanted to be part of something festive, and I knew that coming to a altered organization, things were wealthy to be a slight jagged in the origin, and now I feel like things are enchanting that turn for us.”

    The University of Miami-Florida work has dog-tired his total seven-year career in Houston after the Texans selected him with the third blanket pick in the 2003 NFL Draft.

    Johnson has recorded back-to-back 1,500-yard receiving seasons, including a 101-catch, 1,569-yard campaign mould year. He also scored nine touchdowns in 2009 to up his craft mount up to to 42 TDs in 102 games.

    “After the matrix two years, unknown has played to the honest that this under age valet has as protracted that I’ve been round, other than one other bloke,” said mr big omnibus Gary Kubiak. “What he’s been doing has been certain, and there’s a assignment more to come. So, that’s wealthy to be exciting.”

    He has caught 587 passes for 7,948 yards over the indubitably of his profession, moral two of the numerous organization records he owns.

  2. […] one are the masonite shapes floating inside the circle on this painting, and it’s related to this painting I finished not too long ago.  I don’t have a decent photo of the finished piece yet because […]

Leave a Reply

