What do I have in common with Derry, Ireland?

Okay, so this post is going to be a total mash-up, and will probably come across completely convoluted. Just warning you; I am still pitching my current series to galleries, working a great deal, and not really painting/etc., so I am going to attempt to at least make this a little interesting, despite the utter lack of any “real” art to present.

Concluding this weekend, I have been photographing staff portraits at a neurologist’s practice, and attempting to concentrate on drawing each person’s personality out of every shot, which has been a rewarding process. The doctor is retiring and this is her going away present to her team. Anyway, here are two shots from the series:


(Double-click on the second pics to see more.)

Derry, Ireland after the jump–>

Another project that has been eating up all of my spare time has been post-processing the shots that I took for a wedding a couple weekends ago. There are quite a few shots that I wouldn’t mind sharing, but one in particular that I think merits posting on Darteboard:

In other news, I was filing transparencies at work and I ran across images of two paintings by an anonymous artist from 19th-century Ohio (sorry, no pic). The paintings were each a portrait, one of a man and the other a woman, both with the last name of “Gray” (same as me). I don’t really know a lot about my paternal family history, and these paintings got me thinking. I spent the whole of that night combing the internet for any traces or clues concerning my family’s past whereabouts. It turns out that I am probably not related to the Grays from Ohio, although, I guess it is possible, since I was unable to track the “Grays” in my family back any further than my great-great grandfather, who helped found the town of Puxico, Missouri back in the mid-1800’s. However, I was able to trace back my great-grandmother’s family back quite a ways. The Lees are from Derry, Ireland (location of Bloody Sunday) and first immigrated to North America shortly after or during the American Revolutionary War. William Lee, III was the first of my distant relatives to come across the pond, and upon settling in North Carolina, he took a Cherokee woman as his wife. With their daughter, Fanny “Fanna” Lee, the Lee family merged with the Chatmans (later Chapman). Slowly, my Chapman brood settled further and further west, finally reaching southeastern Missouri in the early 1800’s. In 1923, Mary Elizabeth Chapman married John William Gray, and one of their six children is my Grandfather, Herschel Gray.

How’s that for a completely scrambled post?

Leave a Reply

