Hermit

Hermits are weirdos and kinda fun to think about. I’ve been living like one on and off for the last few weeks, that is, when I’m not being excessively extroverted. When I’m working, painting, designing, or illustrating – I’m in my hermit head.

These are two one-off prints inspired by a typically odd Rubens: “Hermit and Angelica.” The symbolism and allegory in the original is ripe with sex, potential violence and redemption. In my versions the hermit is such a cypher he’s really not there at all.

hermit & angelica #1

Hermit and Angelica #1, monotype, 12″ x 18″

Hermit and Angelica #2

Hermit and Angelica #2, monotype, 12′ x 18″

The Rubens:

Leave a Reply

