Archives: 3 Stage Blue Cascades

So far December has been interesting. I spent 2 weeks in Dallas getting little sleep and attempting to find any form of vegetable matter not accompanied by meat and/or cheese, and working every other minute of my life. Unless I was at a cousin’s wedding in Palm Springs. By the time I got home at 1 am last Friday, I had the flu.

So not a lot of time for art making.

However, the events that have been subversively stressing me out constantly for the last 3-4 months are over and, for my part, went relatively well. So my mind isn’t just free to return to thoughts of art, it actually has free real estate in which to operate.

Which is to say, I’m hoping to return to a decent level of art productivity in the coming weeks. But for now, this thing:

Three Stage Blue Cascades

“3 Stage Blue Cascades” Acrylic on Canvas with Safety-Pins. Variable Size, as pictured ~4 feet wide by 5 feet tall.

I made this 4 years ago now and haven’t been in the same room as it for nearly that time. So looking at it now, it’s a weird piece. Most of its footprint is empty wall space, so it doesn’t really assert its space the way I expect an artwork to do so. I don’t know how I feel about that, and I’m left with the nagging impression of a coiled up mass of curtains.

I may try to do more cascades in the future, but I dunno if I think this works (because of its weirdness) or misses its mark.

Leave a Reply

