Random Novelty

This weekend I taught myself how to bind a book and the not hard to learn practice of Applique. Both resulted in completely random works of art that I have no clue what to do with.

First, the book:

Cover

This is the piece I’m more proud of, though I made it second. I sewed together some paintings for the cover and left 32 “pages” of canvas blank inside. I like it because it looks like the Necronomicon. I wish I had some good incantations to write inside it. I might actually make one of these illustrating an HP Lovecraft story in the future.

Here’s a pickture of the inside:
Page 1

The circles aren’t actually attached, I left everything blank but wanted the photo to pretend something was there. The canvas is primed with acrylic medium, so can be used anyway canvas can be used- except for further quilting. The binding prevents that. My ultimate goal is to bind books of thematically linked quilts. We’ll see how that goes.

Here it is open:
Open3

My other foray, into Applique, was largely done while drinking during the NBA all star game. That might explain how it turned into a very un-ironic portrait of Monta Ellis.

DSC_0515WEB

This thing looks like something a 10 year old kid would hang in his room after his aunt made it for him. I woke up the next day half amused and half horrified by it. The applique worked well enough, but WTF?

-JD

7 Responses to “Random Novelty”

  1. The painting that makes up the outer cover is an old dropcloth, BTW

    • daniel a l Says:

      Have you considered using fabric paint, paint markers, and dyes on (non-canvas) cotton to make a soft quilted piece? I’m just wondering if you are married to the hard, dried, acrylic paint look or if you are open to walking the line of needle craft and high art. I think the background on the basket ball piece is nice but the subject matter is a little juvenile. (of course who am i to take any kind of issue with that)

      • I have some fabrics to try a more straightforward quilt with, or at least a semi straightforward quilt. I also like the idea of using spoonflower fabric for some things, but I’m also trying not to get too far ahead of myself. There’s already too much I’m working on that I threaten to frazzle myself. I may want to get into these things later, though, and may hit you up for advice. Thanks, D!

  2. i love the book. i love that it says book on the cover. i love the idea of a book of your quilts. i love chocolate, too, so i’m going to go eat a bite for dessert now.

    • I’m probably going to do some art on one of the pages of the book then send it around to others to add stuff because I don’t know what to do inside it otherwise. So don’t be surprised if it gets to you at some point.

  3. I’m curious to know if you bound your book from the understanding of how a 16-page “signature” works. At one time I was a plate-maker with The Whitley Company in Austin, Texas. My job was to optically burn 8 pages onto one plate in the correct order so that when the printed sheet was folded all the pages were in the right order. With the second plate organized and burned to correspondingly print the back on the same sheet this signature produces 16 pages. With the understanding of where all your pages end up perhaps you could do your painting accordingly (on both sides) and then simply cut the canvas where the trimmed edges would be if it were paper.

    To better explain, simple take an 8-1/2″ x 11″ sheet of paper, fold it in half the short way, then do that again, the short direction, and then one last time. You should have a mini-signature that is about 2″ x 4″. With the “spine” oriented the way you would open a book the top is the folded, or un-opened ends (with two folds), the edge should have two un-opened folds and four opened pages. If you number each of these pages at the bottom (for instance) you will know where each page ends up upon opening the paper. With this layout you can sew the gutter to the book’s spine with only a few stitches that catches all four folds instead of sewing each page.

  4. […] If you saw my post last week, I created a blank book as a test of book making methods. It is the exception to the rule of judging a book by its cover, […]

Leave a Reply

