summertime laziness

as with all summertime seasons since i was a munchkin, my efforts to stay focused and carry on with ideas and projects get sidelined by bicycle rides and visits to farmers markets and all manner of warm weather exploits.  i ultimately find these activities enormously vital to my art making life, as they help to clear my mind from the minutiae of unimportant shit.  these seemingly unrelated to art making pursuits inform my visual dialogue almost as much as museum visits.  last week i was in NY and went to MoMA and saw some inspired work … came home rode, my bike to the studio and on that ride a particular idea evolved.  so people … if you think the summertime fun endeavors you undertake take away from your art practice … think again  ….

 

graphite and oil stick  approx 4×6

One Response to “summertime laziness”

  1. I agree! I get inspired out of the blue by walks at a local park. I even did an ant seires based on an ant hill I saw there. You never know where you’ll get inspired.

Leave a Reply

